Judges Choose 2018 Startup Competition Cohort


We couldn’t have chosen our 2018 Startup Competition Cohort without the help of our expert judges — investors, entrepreneurs, public officials, educators, and CCNY alumni who took the time to read dozens of student applications, provide feedback, and score startups based on a variety of factors, including market value and innovation.

A huge thank you to: Jack Abel, Namisha Bahl, Lisa Balter Saacks, Joe Barba, Marom Bikson, Gerardo Blumenkrantz, Claude Brathwaite, Art Brody, Elaine Chin, Yaroslav Chinskiy, Andrew Conde, Jared Day, Frank DeBernardis, Kate Debold, Sean Dhadialla, Haytham Elhawary, George Gerstman, Sahar Ghaheri, Jonathan Hakakian, Andrew Hapke, Tori Hay, Brian Heiman, Justin Hendrix, Michael Kruse, Ellie Li, Celia Lloyd, Josh Lucido, Abby Lyall, Marc Mantell, Peirui Mao, Thessy Mehrain, Katey Metzroth, Jim Miller, Howard Morgan, Dave Newman, Valerie Pholpituke, Jessica Quinn, Sage Ramadge, Bill Sappington, Adrienne Schmoeker, Michael Semegran, Amar Singh Rathor, William Snipes, Michael Sondak, Joe Spivack, Minerva Tantoco, Natalia Trujillo, Kim Wales, and Derrick Yeboah.

Many of these judges will join us throughout the semester as expert advisors who will work with the teams to coach them through the development of their businesses and social ventures. If you’d like to join them in supporting the new class of Zahn startups, please reach out to katherine@zahncenternyc.com. Our judges come from diverse backgrounds and represent startups, companies, and investors including (in no particular order): First Round Capital, Standard Chartered Bank, the Moxie Foundation, BNY Mellon, The Mayor’s Office, Google, Wales Capital, Soundboard Angel Fund, Grand Central Tech, Secondmuse, RBC Capital Markets, Matter VC, NYC Media Lab, Mogul, Kinetic, dh studio, Civic Hall, Quake VC, The City College of New York, and more.